(pronunciation = 'thiru-murugaa-trrup-padai')

By N.V. Karthikeyan

The poet Nakeera of the Sangam age (2nd century B.C. - 3rd century A.D.) sang many songs in praise of the Lord, among them the well known composition thiru-murugaa-trruppadai which describes the six most important abodes of Lord Muruga (Aarupadai veedu). They are:

  1. Thirupparankunram
  2. Thiruchenthur
  3. Palani
  4. Swamimalai
  5. Thiruthani
  6. Palamuthircholai

This famous literary piece of exquisite Tamil poetry is, even today, read with avidity by devotees. The songs, pregnant with keen devotion and passionate adoration of the great qualities of the six-faced God, moved all Heaven and moved deeply the divine heart of God Himself. The poem sung by Nakeerar glorifying the leelas of Lord Skanda, known as thiru-murugaa-trruppadai, is an eloquent exhortation to suffering humanity to devote themselves to the worship of the Lord who dwells in the hearts of all.



Document fileThiru-murugaa-trruppadai
     (PDF - 203KB | Tamil & English lyrics | ©

Audio fileThiru-murugaa-trruppadai
     (MP3 - 67.8MB | Artist: Smt Sivananda Vijayalakshmi | © Smt Sivananda Vijayalakshmi)

Special thanks to a fellow Murugan Bhaktar for providing the above audio file to allow other Murugan devotees to learn this sacred work.



Karthikeyan, N.V. Kanthar Anubhuti (God-Experience) of Saint Arunagirinathar. 2nd ed. India: Divine Life Society, 1990.